Shepherd’s Salad

Awhile back, my husband saw Sunny Anderson preparing Shepherd’s Salad on the Food Network channel.  So he went online and printed off the recipe, and requested that I make it on our Wednesday Salad night.  So I did.  In fact, I made it twice.  The first time, the salad did not come out that quite good, since I did not have the full one hour to let the salad be merry.  Last week though, within the few minutes after I got home, I immediately made this salad, and it had the time to sit and be merry.  And the result?   I like it a lot.  It tasted really good, refreshing, and just plain pleasing to your taste buds.

So, as I was about to write this post, as usual, I was looking up the link to the recipe, as well as looking what other information I could find on this salad.  Well, unbeknownst to me, I had made my second Middle Eastern dish.  It turned out that this is a popular Turkish salad, also called Çoban Salatasi.  According to Zerrin at Give Recipe, a shepherd will set out in the morning to herd the animals to the mountain, and he would carry with him some fresh vegetables, and sometimes also some cheese and olive, and would have them for his lunch.  Hence the name, Shepherd’s Salad.

So back to salad making. I didn’t really need much ingredients for this salad.  Cucumbers, tomatoes, red onion, lemon, parsley, olive, feta cheese and apple cider vinegar.

 

I deseeded the cucumbers and tomatoes, and chopped all the veggies, except the parsley.

 

Then I poured the lemon juice on the veggies…

 

Added the apple cider vinegar into the bowl…

 

Added the salt and pepper, and then mixed them all up.

 

Then I put the veggies into the refrigerator for an hour. Right before we ate, I threw in the feta cheese…

 

Mixed them up again… Very easy right?

 

And serve!  Enjoy!

 

Print recipe here.

Shepherd’s Salad
Recipe from: Sunny Anderson, via Food Network

Ingredients
3 Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped
2 cucumbers, seeded and chopped
1 bunch parsley, leaves picked, not chopped
1/2 cup pitted and halved black olives
1/2 small red onion, chopped
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
2 tablespoons lemon juice
4 tablespoons olive oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
8 ounces Greek feta cheese, diced

Preparation:
Toss together all ingredients except feta cheese in a large bowl.  Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour to allow flavors to develop.  Toss in the feta cheese just before serving and taste for seasoning and adjust seasoning, if necessary.

This entry was posted in Food, Salad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

