Tuna Salad Sandwich

As I was browsing recipes at Simply Recipes’s blog, I found this Tuna Salad Sandwich Recipe that looks really easy.  My hubby likes to eat a tuna sandwich on the weekends.  So I thought, I’ll spoil him and make this different Tuna Salad sandwich for him.

So I did, last week.  The stuff I needed to make this salad were canned tuna, red onion, parsley, cottage cheese, capers, dijon mustard, mayonnaise, dill, and celery.

First, I drained and dumped the canned tuna into a large bowl.

Because it was canned tuna in water, the recipe said to drizzle on some olive oil, and I did.

Then I dumped the chopped red onion…

The chopped celery…

Capers…

Then I squeezed the lemon juice all over…

Added some pinched fresh dill…

Dumped the chopped parsley…

The cottage cheese…

Added some mayonnaise…

Then the Dijon mustard…

And mixed it all up.

I served the Tuna Salad on slices of Boule bread I got from Kroger, along with Fritos, my hubby’s favorite. It was delicious, and very easy to make. Enjoy!

Print recipe here.

Tuna Salad Sandwich Recipe

Adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients

1 (6 ounce) can of tuna fish (if packed in water, drain it, and add a teaspoon of good quality olive oil)
1/3 cup of cottage cheese
2 Tablespoons of mayonnaise
1/4 purple onion, chopped finely
1 celery stalk, chopped finely
1 Tablespoon of capers
Juice of half of a lemon
Pinch or two of dill
2 Tbsp minced fresh parsley
1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
Slices of French bread, lightly toasted

Preparation:

Mix all of the ingredients. Serve on toast, either open faced, or in a regular sandwich with lettuce and tomatoes.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

