Sesame Seared Tuna

In my previous post, I mentioned that we ate the Jicama Salad with Sesame Seared Tuna.  In my quest to find a no-bake recipe, I found this Sesame Seared Tuna recipe from Jaden Hair’s blog, Steamy Kitchen.  Both my hubby and I like to eat tuna steak, so the sesame seeds addition would be a twist from our regular Grilled Tuna Steak.

So, I took out the wasabi paste, salt and pepper, black and white sesame seeds, and the frozen tuna.  I bought my frozen tuna from Sam’s Club, so anytime we want to eat some tuna steaks, we don’t have to go far to get it.  They’re in our freezer already.

Then I poured the black and white sesame seeds into a medium-sized bowl, and mixed them around.  I already have the sesame seeds in my kitchen from my leftover brotchen making (German hard crusty bread.  I will have to wait until I have more time to make the brotchen again to document it.)

Then I rinsed off the tuna steaks.  Pat them dry.  Aren’t they purty??

Squirted a little bit wasabi from the tube.

Smeared them around the tuna.

Then I also sprinkled salt and black pepper on them.

Then I put the wasabi-covered tuna into the sesame bowl.

I flipped the tuna to get the other side covered with sesame seeds too.

And on all sides as well.

Then I grilled them on a gridle.  This gridle was actually from hubby’s gas grill.  He doesn’t use it with his grill, so I adopted it and it became mine…  :)   Actually, I guess according to Texas law, it is community property, since we got the gas grill after we were married… Oh well…

I seared the tuna with medium heat, since I don’t want the middle of the tuna to get cooked all the way through, and also did not want the sesame seeds to get burned.  I also made sure that each side got seared as well.

Then when it was all done, I sliced the tuna and arranged the slices on a plate with the Jicama Salad.

The tuna was tender and the sesame seeds gave out nutty flavor to the tuna.  I could not taste the wasabi at all, so maybe next time I can put a bunch more? :)

So if you’re tired of your regular grilled tuna steaks, try this!  It’s easy, fast, and delicious!  Enjoy!!

Print recipe here.

Sesame Seared Tuna
Adapted from:  Steamy Kitchen
Ingredients:

Tuna steaks
Black sesame seeds
White sesame seeds
Wasabi paste
Salt and pepper

Preparation:

Rinse tuna and pat dry.
Squirt wasabi paste onto tuna, smear all over the tuna.
Salt and pepper to taste.
Mix black and sesame seeds in a small/medium sized bowl.
Covered tuna with sesame seeds.
Grill tuna on a medium heat, sear all sides.
Slice and serve.

This entry was posted in Fish, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sesame Seared Tuna

  1. i once had a sesame crusted black bass, i guess i’m gonna love this with tuna too…

Leave a Reply

