PW’s BBQ Meatballs

The other thing I got to make for my grandkids when they were here last week was PW’s BBQ meatballs.  It was one recipe that I know I could make it successfully, taste good, and could be prepared in advance.  And, it is not a frou frou stuff that the boys would not eat it. You know how boys are, sometimes they are picky with their food, like… Kameron just would not eat steamed carrots.  No can do ma ‘am, no soft carrots for me.  I am a raw carrot kinda guy.   That’s what he would say if you offered him steamed carrots.

So, I thought the BBQ meatballs would be just fine for the boys and for the adults too.

So on one free night that I did not have any homework from hubby or cooking to do, or FarmVilling to do (well, let’s face it, I sacrificed my time to play FarmVille for my grandkids), I made the meatballs and froze them.  I had never frozen them before, but I figured, it would just be fine.

So as usual I lined the ingredients up.  Ground beef, oatmeal, milk, salt, onion, and peppers. Very simple and no fuss meatballs.

I chopped the onions very fine, since PW said that you don’t want to have big chunks of onions in these meatballs.

Then I squeezed the ground meat out of its wrapper, dumped it into the mixing bowl.

Then I put in the oatmeal into the mixing bowl, adding extra oatmeal since I used all the 2 lbs of ground beef, while the recipe only called for 1 ½ lbs of ground beef.

I added the milk.

Dumped in the minced onion.

Added the salt.

And lastly, the black peppers.

I mixed it up until all of the ingredients were incorporated. I did this pretty quick because the ground beef was still cold, and my hand was starting to get numb!

Then I scooped some of the meat mixture and made it into a ping pong ball sized meatball. I put the meatball on a cookie sheet and continued making meatballs until all of the meat mixture was gone.

When I was done, I made about 27 meatballs.

Then I put the cookie sheet into the freezer, and an hour later, I put the half frozen meatballs into a ziplock bag and put it back into the freezer.  The meatballs were ready for the boys, and Granny was ready for the boys too.  Now Granny can kick back and relax and just continue on playing Farmville. ;)

On the night before I was going to cook the meatballs, I just took out the bag of meatball and put it in the refrigerator to thaw overnight.

When I came home from work, I recruited the boys to help me prepare dinner.  I actually like having them around as kitchen elves!  I wonder how often can I borrow them?  Too bad they live quite far from us, so I can’t have them around but once or twice a year… *sigh*

Since Blake was busy chopping chocolate for the Nigela Lawson’s Triple Chocolate Brownies, I assigned Kameron to be in charge of the BBQ sauce while I was working on the meatballs.

The ingredients for the BBQ sauce was ketchup, worcestershire sauce, vinegar, sugar, Tabasco sauce, and onion.  I used Whataburger ketchup because I like it a lot.  Whataburger puts garlic in their ketchup and that makes their ketchup extra yummy!  So whenever we go to Whataburger, I always ask for their ketchup!

So I had Kameron opening those Whataburger ketchups and put them into a measuring cup.  Please ignore the mess in my kitchen… pretend there was nothing in the sink.  Just pay attention to Kam and the ketchup.

While Kam was working on the ketchup, I heated up some olive oil in my pan.

I dredged the meatballs with flour. At this time, I also reshaped the meatballs a little bit.

I made sure that the whole meatball was covered with flour.

Then I put the dredged meatballs into the pan, and browned the meatballs.

Once Kam finished with the ketchup, I added the sugar…

The vinegar…

The worcestershire sauce… (I wonder who named this sauce… English is hard enough without having to learn some complicated sauce name!)

Added just a teeny dash of the Tabasco sauce…

And dumped the chopped onions…

And Kam stirred the sauce until all of the ingredients were incorporated.  See, if they could stay longer with us, I would teach them how to cook.  Then, I would have the boys prepare dinner while we were at work.  And when we come home, we would have dinner already ready.  Hmm…… we may need to look into that idea more closely… :)  I need to keep working on having their parents move down to Texas!

Once the meatballs were browned, I put them in a baking pan.

Then Kam poured the BBQ sauce on top of the browned meatballs, and we baked it for 45 minutes at 350 F degrees.

Unfortunately, I did not have time to make a home made mac and cheese to go with the meatballs, so the Kraft’s 7 minutes one would have to do, along with the ready-made mashed potatoes.

When the 45 minutes mark went off, we pulled out the meatballs and sat down and chowed down.

I had the meatballs with mac and cheese and salad.  The meatballs were yummy, and it actually reminds me more of a meatloaf.  An individual size meatloaf that was.  Well, all in all, the boys liked and enjoyed the meatballs.  Thanks PW for a simple yet delicious dinner recipe!

Print recipe here.

PW’s BBQ Meatballs

Ingredients

  • FOR MEATBALLS
  • 1-½ pound Ground Beef
  • ¾ cups Oats
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 3 Tablespoons Very Finely Minced Onion
  • 1-½ teaspoon Salt
  • Plenty Of Ground Black Pepper, to taste
  • _____
  • FOR COOKING MEATBALLS
  • 1 cup All-Purpose Flour (coating For Frozen Meatballs)
  • Canola Oil
  • _____
  • FOR SAUCE
  • 1 cup Ketchup
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons Vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons Worcestershire
  • 4 Tablespoons (to 6 Tablespoons) Onion
  • 1 dash Tabasco

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all meatball ingredients. Roll into medium-small balls and place on a cookie sheet. Place sheet in freezer for five minutes.

After 5 minutes, remove meatballs from freezer and immediately dredge in unseasoned flour.

Brown meatballs in canola oil until just brown. Place into a baking dish.

Combine all sauce ingredients. Pour over meatballs and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Serve with egg noodles, mashed potatoes, or crusty French bread.

This entry was posted in BBQ, Beef, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

