Ehm… Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies, anyone?

I got these frowning, “are you crazy” looks when I mentioned to my coworkers that I baked Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies.  They would say “Peanut butter what cookies?”, “Bacon? As in b-a-c-o-n?”, “Why would you want to mix peanut butter and bacon?”.  Yeah… I should have brought the video camera to the office Monday… ha ha…

Some were brave enough to try them, and some just totally digusted by it.  Luckily, the recipe only made 12 cookies.  So the cookies went pretty fast actually.  I guess it depends if you are a peanut butter lover or not.  Some really liked the cookies and asked for the recipe… some just… walked away… ha ha…

I was actually not going to blog about this, but, since some of my coworkers really liked and and came back for more.. I figured, I’ll blog it, and if you are brave enough to try to make it yourself, you are on your own.  But then, you might really like it.

This recipe is gluten free cookies.  I have an ex-coworker who has a celiac disease and cannot eat anything made out of flour.  These cookies are flourless and I forwarded on the recipe to him.  It took him about two weeks before his wive finally had the time to make these cookies for him.  His review was “Terrific!”  That’s what made me curious and decided to try it too.

The ingredients were pretty simple, although I think it emphasize on “all-natural” peanut butter.

I started of course by cooking the bacon.  I only needed six slices, but I went ahead and cooked all of them and put the rest in the freezer.

Don’t they look good?  Who doesn’t like bacon?

Now, I chopped the bacon up, since I could not just crumble them with my hands.  I like tiny squares.  The same when I was chopping onions too.  I had to cut them up into tiny similar square pieces.  If I just chopped away and the cuts of the onions were asymmetrical, it really bothered me.  I know, I have issues.

Oh, and look at my new professional grade cookie sheet.  I got this at Sam’s Club, 2 for 9 bucks.  Can’t beat that!

So I began by creaming the peanut butter and sugar.

Then after the peanut butter and sugar were incorporated, I mixed in the egg and the baking soda.

Then, the bacon was next…

Then, you just rolled the dough into twelve ping-pong sized balls.  Or if you like it smaller, you can make smaller balls.  I used the food prep gloves for this, so it was an easy clean up, and I didn’t have greasy hands afterward.  You probably are wondering, why would I have food prep gloves… well… both my husband and I like to cook/bake, so, these plastic gloves come in handy when you have to tear the food with your hands…

You like my new cookie sheet?  I do too :)  Then use a fork to make the crisscross pattern.

Bake it, and once they were done, let it cool for a little while.  Mine came out very fragile while they were warm.

Take a bite, and enjoy a glass of milk with it :)

Original recipe is from here.

Print recipe here.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

recipe found on joythebaker.com

adapted from The Gourmet Cookbook

makes 15 cookies about the size of your palm

1 cup all-natural chunky or smooth peanut butter

1 cup sugar (1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup granulated sugar)

1 egg

1 teaspoon baking soda

about 6 slices of bacon, cooked, cooled and dices

In a skillet over medium high heat, fry up bacon until cooked through and let cool on paper towels until cool enough to dice.  Dice up and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a baking sheet with butter and set aside. In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes. Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes.  Fold in cooked bacon.   Roll into large walnut sized balls and create a cris-cross pattern with a fork. If you’d like, roll the dough balls in granulated sugar before making thecris-cross pattern. Bake for 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool on a baking sheet for five minutes, then transfer to… your mouth.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ehm… Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies, anyone?

  1. Pingback: Coffee Crusted Pork Chops | Anny's Blog

Leave a Reply

