Pizza!!!

Well, I never thought that I’ll make pizzas in my house.  Usually whenever we want some pizza, we just dial the Pizza Hut’s or Papa John’s phone numbers.  We don’t usually order pizza, since we like to cook our own food.  I found this recipe when I was browsing recipes in PW’s Tasty Kitchen.  Pizza using tortilla!  What a neat idea, you can also use the regular size tortilla for an individual size pizza.  What a marvel idea!  The original recipe is here.

Since I planned on having pizza for Monday night, I prepared most of the work yesterday.  Here are all of the ingredients, more or less, to make your own pizza.

I started by mincing garlic and onions.  Speaking of onions, if you are wearing contact lenses, you are lucky!  You won’t cry over an onion!  Try it!  This is one of the rare occasions that I will miss my contact lenses. Yes, when I need to chop an onion! (See I chose the word “need” and not “want”?)

Then I sauteed the garlic and onion for a few minutes.. the recipe says until it is soft… I don’t know how to exactly describe it… translucent color? Maybe look wilted is the right word?

I am not sure.. anyway, then you poured the tomato sauce and tomato paste into the skillet.  And, what a perfect timing (as we say to each other quite often), my hubby came and started to talk to me about something.. while I was trying to juggle the camera, the tomato sauce can and trying to pour the sauce into the skillet.  Sadly to say, I neglected my hubby and paid more attention to my skillet.  After all, I didn’t want to burn my pizza sauce, did I?  (Don’t worry, I went to him and continued the conversation when I had the time while the sauce was simmering).

So then the recipe said to stir the sauce and to make sure it is not lumpy.  I had only one addition to say, stir it gently.  Yeah, I was stirring the sauce a bit too fast to its liking, and it squirted my eyes!  Oh yes!  They did have a mind of its own.  Sufficiently to say, I had to rinse my eye and got rid of that pesky tomato sauce that did not belong in my eyes!  After I could see again, I sprinkled the sauce with the oregano, basil, and sugar, and let it simmer for 15 minutes.

Voila!  Done!  Pizza sauce!  I didn’t realize it was that easy to make one!

So, while it was simmering, I continued on chopping the rest of my veggies.  Don’t worry, I did talk to my husband first….  I julienned the half onion, green bell pepper, and sliced the mushrooms.  I also sliced some of my queen Anne olive… (it’s only Queen olive… but somehow the word Queen reminds me of Queen Anne.. whoever that was!)  Do you know that I couldn’t find sliced green olive in my grocery store?  They only have the black ones sliced.  What’s wrong with the green olives?  Answer me, Olive Tree! :)

Once I’m done with the veggies and the sauce was done, I started cooking the Italian sausage.  I started by slicing the casing from each of the sausages, and then mushed them with my fingers.  We don’t want huge pieces of sausage in our pizza, we want those tiny round bits of meat like the professional does it.  That makes me wondering though, do Papa Johns have those sausages come in tiny pieces like that, or do they hire someone to mush a bunch of sausages all day long?  I guess that created another job for someone.  So, I browned the sausage, and at the end I used paper towel to drain the excess oil coming out of the sausages.  It smelled wonderful, the combination of the meat and the spices they used for the sausage just overwhelming my sense of smell.

Mushed Italian Sausage

So, tonight is Monday night, and I created my assembly line.  Tortilla! Ready, checked! Sauce!  Ready, checked! Cheese!  Ready, checked! Veggies!  Ready, checked!  Oh, I decided to throw in some pineapple pieces in this pizza.  Have you ever have pizza with pineapples on it?  Yummo!!!

After putting six tortillas in cookie sheet (why six?  because that’s all the cookie sheet can hold!), I smeared them  with the pizza sauce, be generous, don’t skimp on the sauce.  You want the flavor in the pizza..   Then sprinkled mozzarella cheese, then add on the veggies, meat, or whatever you want on your pizza.  Then, lastly, add the romano cheese on top.  Be generous too, cover it up!  I made a mistake by thinking the pizza had too much cheese already.  WRONG!!!  You want that melted cheese covering your toppings, and when you take your first bite, your tongue is hit by all of these wonderful flavors.   So next time I might dumped the whole bag of cheese on these pizza.. :D  Then, one important step according to the recipe, smash the pizza with the palm of your hand.  I wasn’t quite sure why, maybe so the toppings would stick to each other?

So this is it!  Your pizza is done and ready to be baked!  It looks delicious right?

Then, 15 minutes later..

Up close and personal….

More…

And more…. I couldn’t decide which picture is the best looking one…  so I post all of them, let you be the judge..

Anyone want a bite?

Print recipe here.

Firehouse Pizza

  • 2 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 whole White Onion
  • 1 can 16 Oz Tomato Sauce
  • 1 can 12 Oz Tomato Paste
  • 1 Tablespoon Basil
  • 2 Tablespoons Oregano
  • 4 dashes Sugar
  • 1 package Tortilla Shells
  • 2 packages Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 whole Green Pepper
  • 1 package Mushrooms
  • 1 package Pepperoni
  • 1 pound Italian Sausage
  • 1 can Sliced Green Olives
  • 1 can Sliced Black Olives
  • 1 container Romano Cheese
  • 2 dashes Crushed Red Pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a small saucepan, heat olive oil. Once heated, add 1/2 onion finely minced and the minced garlic.

Once onions are soft, add tomato sauce and tomato paste. Stir until there are no more lumps in the sauce.

Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of oregano over the top of the pan, stir in.

Repeat with basil.

Repeat again with last of oregano.

Add a palmful of sugar and stir. Let simmer for about 15 minutes.

Chop veggies and cook sausage.

Set tortilla shells on pizza pan. Add sauce and mozzarella cheese. Add veggies. Sprinkle Romano cheese on top.

This is the most important part – take your hands and smush down the pizza.

Put into hot oven. Cook 12-15 minutes or until tortilla starts to turn brownish and cheese is melted.

This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza!!!

  1. elly garner says:

    mau coba ah kok kelihatanne gampang… eh Yang, tortillane km beli sing besar opo sing kecil? terus the answer buat green olive… may be if u move to Jersey you will find the green ones … we have a lot here… ( Italian base ) hhahahah but our family do love both ( green or black ). And for my self I prefer Green olive… yum yum

    • axokuaci says:

      Gampang sih.. hihi.. cumak ya itu, kudu prepare all before hand ya… kalo enggak… kelabakan… terus topping’e kan sak doyan kamu ya… hahaa.. iyah ini, kali2 kudu ke grocery laen.. aku grocery di HEB Pantry sih, kecil, cuman 5 minutes away. Ada Kroger agak jauhan.. tapi males kesono….. Olives yang ijo asin yang… haha… kasinan buat aku.. mendingan sing item, nggak pati asin…
      terus ttg tortilla’nya, bisa pake sing burito size, tapi itu kan harus di cut jadine ya.. ada pizza cutter? Kalo males cut, pake sing biasa aja… satu aja, bikin wareg.. makane aku sampe kewaregen.. haha.. lah dimakan dua biji… :)

Leave a Reply

